Northeast Indiana’s 3rd Congressional District could see little change in this year’s redistricting process, based on census figures released Thursday.

Some state legislative districts in northeast Indiana may need some tweaking, however.

Laws require congressional and legislative districts to be as nearly equal in population as possible.

Using the new census numbers, Indiana legislators will redraw the districts this year to take effect for elections from 2012 through 2020.

The 2010 census shows Indiana has a total population of 6,483,802.

The ideal size for a congressional district would be 720,422. The 3rd District’s population of 723,633 comes closest to the target among Indiana’s nine congressional districts. Its current borders are likely to see few changes.

The district now contains all of DeKalb, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben and Whitley counties, as well as parts of Allen and Elkhart counties.

The ideal size for one of Indiana’s 50 state Senate districts would be 129,676.

Senate District 13 now has 123,690 residents and might expand its current boundaries. It includes all of LaGrange and Noble counties, portions of Steuben and Kosciusko counties and Fairfield Township of DeKalb County. Sen. Susan Glick, R-LaGrange, holds the seat.

With 139,068 residents, Senate District 14 may have to shrink. It now takes in all of DeKalb County, southern and eastern Steuben County and northern and eastern Allen County. Sen. Dennis Kruse, R-Auburn, holds the seat.

The perfect size for one of Indiana’s 100 House districts would be 64,838 residents. The census impact on northeast Indiana’s five House districts:

• District 18 is too large with 68,681 people. Rep. David Wolkins, R-Winona Lake, represents the district, which includes western LaGrange County.

• District 51 is too small with 62,592 people. Rep. Dick Dodge, R-Pleasant Lake, holds the seat that represents all of Steuben County and most of DeKalb County.

• District 52 also is undersized with 62,273 residents. Rep. David Yarde, R-Garrett, represents that district, which takes in most of LaGrange and Noble counties and Keyser and Richland townships of western DeKalb County.

• District 83 is too big with 67,188 residents. Rep. Kathy Heuer represents the district, which includes southern and western areas of Noble County.

• District 85 is one of the most oversized at 78,990 residents, making it the sixth largest in the state. Rep. Phyllis Pond, R-New Haven, holds the seat for the district that includes rural townships in southwestern and southeastern DeKalb County.

© 2020 KPC Media Group, Inc.