Farmers in Monroe County and 87 other counties — including nearby counties Brown, Greene, Jackson, Lawrence, Morgan and Owen — are eligible for low-interest emergency loans because of heavy rains and flooding that have occurred since May 1.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture on Wednesday approved a disaster declaration for 53 rain-sodden counties due to crop losses, a designation that allows producers in those counties and all contiguous counties to apply for loans through the federal office’s Farm Services Agency.

“Farms in counties all across the state have suffered because of the excessive rainfall we’ve experienced during our spring and summer months this year,” Gov. Mike Pence, who requested the designation, said in a news release. “I’m thankful to the Indiana Farm Service Agency and the United States Department of Agriculture for recognizing the need for assistance for our Hoosier farmers, and I hope that those affected will apply for the loans they need.”

In total, farmers in 88 of the state’s 92 counties who have suffered at least 30 percent loss in crop production or a physical loss to livestock, livestock products, real estate or chattel property can apply for the loans over the next eight months. Farmers in counties in Illinois, Kentucky, Ohio and Michigan that are contiguous to the disaster areas also are eligible.

There are some stipulations, though.

© 2019 HeraldTimesOnline, Bloomington, IN