The Indiana University Board of Trustees has more women today than it ever has before.

The nine-member board had three women before Indiana Gov. Eric Holcomb appointed Molly Connor as the board’s newest student trustee earlier this year. Holcomb also reappointed Trustee Melanie Walker and alumni reelected Trustee MaryEllen Bishop. Alumni elected Trustee Donna Spears last year.

While their terms began July 1, Connor, Walker and Bishop were officially sworn in as trustees during the board’s annual organizational meeting Thursday at the Indiana Memorial Union. IU President Michael McRobbie took a moment to point out the milestone during that meeting.

“I would particularly like to draw attention to the fact that Trustees Bishop, Connor and Walker, together with Trustee Spears, represent a historical record number of four women on the IU Board of Trustees.”
© 2020 HeraldTimesOnline, Bloomington, IN